More news

More news

$5.7 million NIH grant will fund final stretch of successful 15-year initiative

A University of Kansas research center developing technologies to better understand and diagnose disease has received a $5.7 million federal grant to sustain the collaborative, multidisciplinary research environment it has helped foster at KU since 2012 through its core laboratories and faculty…

Apurba Dutta named School of Pharmacy associate dean

Apurba Dutta has been named associate dean of academic affairs for the University of Kansas School of Pharmacy. Dutta has been a faculty member in the Department of Medicinal Chemistry at the school since 2000 and began his career at KU in 1999 as assistant director of the Drug Discovery Program at…

W.M. Keck Foundation awards $1.2 million to KU and University of Chicago team to transform understanding of RNA splicing

The W.M. Keck Foundation has awarded a $1.2 million grant to medicinal chemistry and computational biology researchers at the University of Kansas and the University of Chicago focused on addressing a long-unresolved problem in biomedical research — finding molecules able to target the “undruggable…

Doctoral student Jacob Immel wins first place in 2021 3MT® Competition

The Three Minute Thesis Competition is a global research communication event with a compelling challenge: How well can graduate students convey the scope of their research to a general audience in three minutes or less?

Looking Back at 49 Years of Teaching and Research at KU

Robert Hanzlik, Professor Emeritus, looks back on 49 years of teaching and researching at the University of Kansas.

Apurba Dutta, Associate Professor of Medicinal Chemistry, named one of 13 KU Senior Administrative Fellows for 2019-2020

Apurba Dutta, Associate Professor of Medicinal Chemistry, is one of thirteen KU faculty members selected to take part in the Senior Administrative Fellows Program for the 2019-2020 academic year.

Timmermann lends her expertise to search for new approaches to pain management

LAWRENCE — When the U.S. Secretary of Health and Human Services asked Distinguished Professor Barbara Timmermann to serve on a National Institutes of Health (NIH) advisory council, she was eager to share the expertise in medicinal chemistry she has developed throughout her career.

KU Medicinal Chemistry welcomes two new faculty members

The Department of Medicinal Chemistry in the KU School of Pharmacy welcomes two new faculty members in summer 2019 -  Shyam Sathya

Journal of Natural Products Special Issue Honors Distinguished Professor Barbara N. Timmermann

School of Pharmacy will host 57th annual medicinal chemistry meeting

LAWRENCE — More than 200 of the brightest minds in medicinal chemistry will be in Lawrence this week as the 57th Annual MIKIW Conference gets underway at the University of Kansas School of Pharmacy.

Media Contact

Brad Stauffer
Director of External Affairs