Keynote Speaker

Bruce D. Roth, PhD.

Senior Vice President, Small Molecule Drug Discovery

Genentech Research and Early Development

Bruce Roth received his BS in Chemistry in 1976 (St. Joseph’s College), his Ph.D. Organic Chemistry in 1981 (Iowa State University) and after a postdoctoral fellowship at the University of Rochester, joined Warner-Lambert/Parke-Davis Research in 1982, where he rose to the position of Vice President, Chemistry.  He is best known as the inventor of Lipitor®, the largest selling drug in the history of the pharmaceutical industry, for which he has received numerous awards, including the 2013 Perkin Medal, the highest award given to industrial chemists in the United States and the 2015 National Academy of Sciences award for Chemistry in Service to Society. Bruce served as Vice President of Chemistry at the Pfizer Global Research and Development, Ann Arbor Laboratories from 2000-2007.  He also served as an adjunct associate professor in the Department of Medicinal Chemistry in the School of Pharmacy of the University of Michigan from 1996-2007. 


In May 2007, Bruce joined Genentech Small Discovery as Senior Director of Discovery Chemistry.  On August 10, 2008 he was named one of the American Chemical Society Heroes in Chemistry for the Discovery and Development of Lipitor®.  In September 2009, he was promoted to Vice President, Discovery Chemistry, Genentech Research and Early Development (gRED) and in January 2015 he was appointed as Senior Vice President, gRED Small Molecule Drug Discovery.


Dr. Roth is the inventor or co-inventor of 54 issued U.S. patents and the author or co-author of 51 manuscripts, 35 published abstracts, 9 book chapters and review articles and has given more than 30 invited lectures. In 2013 he was inducted into the ACS Medicinal Chemistry Division Hall of Fame.

Previous MIKI Keynote Speakers

Year Host Speaker Association
2014 Illinois Dr. Paul A. Wender Stanford University
2013 Minnesota Dr. Marvin J. Miller University of Notre Dame
2012 Iowa Dr. Heidi E. Hamm Vanderbilt University
2011 Kansas Dr. Dennis C. Liotta Emory University
2010 Illinois Dr. Tomáš Hudlický Brock University
2009 Minnesota Dr. Dale Boger Scripps Research Institute
2008 Iowa Dr. Daniel Kahne Harvard University
2007 Kansas Dr. Albert Padwa Emory University
2006 Illinois Dr. William Fenical University of California, San Diego
2005 Minnesota Dr. Christopher Lipinski Pfizer Pharmaceuticals
2004 Iowa Dr. Kenner Rice National Institutes of Health
2003 Kansas Dr. C. Dale Poulter University of Utah
2002 Illinois Dr. Richard B. Silverman Northwestern University
2001 Minnesota Dr. Andrew Hamilton Yale University
2000 Iowa Dr. Michael Marletta University of Michigan
1999 Kansas Dr. Roger M. Friedinger Merck Research Laboratories
1998 Illinois Dr. Richard A. Lerner Scripps Research Institute
1997 Minnesota Dr. John Montgomery Biocryst Pharmaceutical, Inc.
1996 Iowa Dr. David Nichols Purdue University
1995 Kansas Dr. Paul Anderson Dupont Merck Pharmaceutical
1994 Illinois Dr. Arthur Patchett Merck Research Laboratories
1993 Minnesota Dr. Daniel Rich University of Wisconsin, Madison
1992 Kansas Dr. Laurence Hurley University of Texas, Austin
1991 Iowa Dr. Julius Rebek Massachusetts Institute of Technology
1990 Illinois Dr. Koji Nakanishi Columbia University
1989 Minnesota Dr. John Katzenellenbogen University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
1988 Iowa Dr. Carl Djerassi Stanford University
1987 Kansas Dr. William Roush Indiana University
1986 Illinois Dr Joseph Fried University of Chicago
1985 Minnesota Dr. David Triggle SUNY Buffalo
1984 Iowa Dr. Alan Karitzky University of Florida
1983 Wisconsin Dr. Paul Bartlett University of California, Berkeley
1982 Illinois Dr. Henry Rapoport University of California, Berkeley
1981 Minnesota Dr. Harry Wasserman Yale University
1980 Minnesota Dr. Eugene Jorgensen University of California, San Francisco
1979 Iowa Dr. Alan Sartorelli Yale University
1978 Kansas Dr. Albert Meyers Colorado State University
1977 Illinois Dr. Heinz Floss Purdue University
1976 Minnesota Dr. Donald Jerina National Institutes of Health
1975 Iowa Dr. Everett May National Institutes of Health
1974 Kansas Dr. Marjorie Horning Baylor University
1973 Illinois Dr. Arnold Brossi Hoffman-LaRoche
1972 Minnesota Dr. Gertrude Ellion Burroughs-Wellcome
1971 Iowa Dr. Bernard Belleau University of Ottawa
1970 Kansas Dr. Corwin Hansch Pomona College
1969 Illinois Dr. Everett Maynert University of Illinois
1968 Minnesota Dr. Bernard Baker University of California, Santa Barbara
1967 Iowa Dr. Julius Axelrod National Institutes of Health
1966 Kansas Dr. Richard Schowen University of Kansas


One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
44 nationally ranked graduate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
5th nationwide for service to veterans —"Best for Vets: Colleges," Military Times
KU Today