• Home
  • Seminars
  • Lectures
  • The Mathias P. Mertes Memorial Lecture

The Mathias P. Mertes Memorial Lecture

Mertes Memorial Lecturer for 2017

Peter G. Schultz

The Mathias P. Mertes Memorial Lecturer for 2017 will be Peter Schultz from The Scripps Research Institute, La Jolla, CA. The focus of Schultz’s research is the biologically inspired synthesis of molecules and molecular assemblies with novel physical, chemical or biological properties. He is considered one of the leading pioneers in combinatorial chemistry, screenable molecular libraries, and “high-throughput” chemistry.

Schultz is currently CEO and Professor of Chemistry at The Scripps Research Institute and is the former Director for the Genomics Institute of the Novartis Research Foundation. Schultz’s visit to KU will be from November 1-3, 2017. The Mertes Memorial Lecture Series is sponsored by the department and the Mathias P. Mertes Memorial Fund of the Kansas University Endowment Association.

He founded Symyx Technologies, which has had a large commercial impact in the materials and catalysis fields, including partnerships with Exxon-Mobil, Dow and others. He is a member of the National Academy of Sciences and the Institute of Medicine of the National Academy of Sciences. Schultz is a founding scientist of Affymax Research Institute and also co-founder of Syrrx, Kalypsys, Phenomix, Ilypsa, and Ambrx. In August 2014, Nature Biotechnology ranked him as the top translational researcher of 2013.

2015 - Philip S. Low

Purdue University, West Lafayette, IN
"Ligand-targeted Therapeutic and Imaging Agents for Cancer, Autoimmune and Infectious Diseases"

2013 - Kevan Shokat









University of California at San Francisco, San Francisco, CA
University of California at Berkeley, Berkeley, CA
"New Strategies for Treating Parkinson's Disease and Lung Cancer: Activators of the PINK1 Kinase and Inibitors of K-Ras"

Professor and chair Tom Prisinzano and graduate student Matthew Meinig presented Dr. Shokat with a certificate commemorating his selection as the 2013 Mertes Memorial Lecturer.

2011 - Jon Clardy

Dr. Jon Clardy

Harvard Medical School, Boston, MA
"Bacterial Communications and the Discovery of New Biologically Active Molecules

Distinguished Professor and Chair Barbara Timmermann and graduate student Matthew Meinig presented Dr. Clardy with a certificate commemorating his selection as the 2011 Mertes Memorial Lecturer.

2009 - Arun Ghosh

Purdue University, West Lafayette, IN
"Harnessing the Power of Organic Synthesis to Address the Challenges to Today's Medicine"

2007 - Gregory C. Fu

Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), Cambridge, MA
"Asymmetric Catalysis with Planar-Chiral Heterocycles"

2005 - Justin Du Bois

Stanford University, San Francisco, CA
"Drawing Inspiration for Reaction Design from Nature's Products"

2003 - Marvin Miller

Notre Dame University, Notre Dame, IN
"Design, Syntheses, and Studies of New Antimicrobial Agents and Microbe-Targeted Drug Delivery Systems"

2001 - Paul A. Wender

Stanford University, San Francisco, CA
"The Chemistry-Medicine Continuum: New Reactions, New Therapeutic Leads, and New Drug Delivery Systems"

1999 - Samuel H. Gellman

University of Wisconsin at Madison, Madison, WI
"Heteropolymer Folding: Proteins and Beyond"

1997 - George R. Petit

Arizona State University, Tempe, AZ
"The Discovery of Marine and Terrestrial Anticancer Drugs"

1996 - Povl Krogsgaard-Larsen

The Royal Danish School of Pharmacy, Copenhagen, Denmark
"GABA-A and GABA-B Receptor Ligands: Chemistry, Molecular Pharmacology, and Therapeutic Aspects"
"Excitatory Amino Acid Receptor Ligands: Design, Subtype Specificity, and Therapeutic Prospects"

One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
44 nationally ranked graduate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
5th nationwide for service to veterans —"Best for Vets: Colleges," Military Times
KU Today